Oats are the seed of the Avena sativa species. Oat groats are typically consumed in a processed form such as oatmeal or rolled oats.
Oats contain the protein avenin, which may be of concern to gluten-sensitive individuals. Oats are a source of various vitamins and minerals, including iron, phosporus, and vitamins E and B1; protein, and dietary fiber. Oats, and particularly oat bran, contain the soluble fiber beta-glucan, which is shown to help lower cholesterol. See: Avenin, Soluble fiber.
Oats are a common allergen. Oats may be contaminated with gluten unless certified gluten-free and should be approached with caution by gluten-sensitive individuals.
Granola, granola bars, breads, muffins, pastries, oat milk, muesli, breakfast cereal, steel-cut oats, oatmeal, oat bran, rolled oats, instant oats