Tapioca starch is a flour derived from the root of the cassava plant. It may be referred to as tapioca flour or simply tapioca. It is commonly used in gluten-free baking as well as acting as a thickener, binder, and fat replacer.

Health considerations

Tapioca starch is essentially pure starch, with no fiber, sugar, fat, or protein content. It contains a small amount of iron.

Keep in mind

Outside of the US, tapioca starch may not be synonymous with tapioca flour. Tapioca starch is gluten-free, assuming no contamination. See: maltodextrin

May be found in

Gravies, sauces, gluten-free baked goods, bread, gluten-free foods, frozen desserts, processed meats, sausages, hot dogs


Meat Science
Bob’s Red Mill

Leave a comment