Shellac is a resin secreted by female lac bugs onto tree bark; this resin is then scraped off and purified then bleached. Shellac is used in a variety of industries, including as a food glaze for fresh fruit and on candy coatings. Shellac is available in a variety of colors.

Keep in mind

Vegans, vegetarians, and other individuals with specialty diets such as adherence to halal may wish to avoid this ingredient, though insect fragments are removed during purification. The European Food Safety Agency called for safety data on shellac in 2009 but was unable to complete a report on shellac’s safety due to a lack of formal studies and data.

May be found in

Candy, chewing gum, enteric coated pills, nutritional supplements, tablets, apples, chocolate coated nuts, candy coated chocolates, chocolates, mints


Sportlight Halal Magazine
U.S. Apple Association

Alternative Spellings and Names


Leave a comment