Plain caramel is a caramel colour food dye. It is made by heating carbohydrates without the presence of ammonium or sulfite compounds.

Health considerations

Caramel colors are considered generally safe in the levels used in foods.

Keep in mind

The carbohydrate source for caramel production may come from allergenic sources such as wheat, barley, or milk, so individuals with allergies may wish to avoid caramel colours or contact manufacturers to request information about allergen levels.

May be found in

Whiskey, high proof alcohols, breakfast cereal, energy bars, nutrition bars, rice cakes, croutons


CFW Feature

Alternative Spellings and Names

Caustic caramel, spirit caramel, E150(a), class I caramel

Leave a comment